Skip to content


New 7 Wonders of Nature

The Official New7Wonders of Nature campaign started in 2007, immediately after the successful campaign to elect the man-made Official New 7 Wonders of the World, in which more than 100 million votes were cast and which took democracy to a new global level. From over 440 participants representing over 220 countries – more countries than participate in the Olympic Games – and through a national qualification and race to become one of the Top 77, as well as the Panel of Experts recommendation of the list of 28 Official Finalist Candidates.

New7Wonders relied on the expert panel to advise on the choice of the 28 Official Finalist Candidates selected from the Top 77 nominees, after the second phase of the campaign that ended on 7 July, 2009.

The recommendation of the New7Wonders Panel of Experts was based on the following criteria:
1. Unique beauty of the nominated site
2. Diversity and distribution (accounted for in 7 groups)
3. Ecological significance (in terms of either stand-alone eco-systems and/or their significance for human beings)
4. Historical legacy (relation that human beings and/or indigenous populations have or have had with the site)
5. Geo-location (even distribution of the 28 Official Finalists between all continents)

Voting procedure for the New7Wonders of Nature

New7Wonders of Nature

The list of 28 Official Finalist Candidates was announced on 21 July, 2009. From this point on the panel’s job is done, and it will be the people of the world who decide the Official New7Wonders of Nature. The final declaration of the New7Wonders of Nature will be in 2011.

Bangladeshis and Indian will be pleased to know that Sundarbans is a candidate to become one of the New7Wonders of Nature.
Sundarbans is presentated like this:


The Sundarbans delta, at the mouth of the Ganges river, is the largest mangrove forest in the world, spreading across parts of Bangladesh and West Bengal, India. The Sundarbans features a complex network of tidal waterways, mudflats and small islands of salt-tolerant mangrove forests. The area is known for its wide range of fauna, with the Royal Bengal tiger being the most famous, but also including many birds, spotted deer, crocodiles and snakes.

Have a look at the remaning 27 candidates here.

The third phase of the New7Wonders of Nature is now underway, and you can vote on your choice of seven natural wonders from the selection of 28 Official Finalist Candidates.
If you cast your vote during the nominee phases, you can vote again now during this finalist phase. To vote click here.

New7Wonders of Nature World Tour
Voting will continue throughout 2010 and into 2011. During this time, the New7Wonders World Tour will aim to visit each of the Finalists to allow them to present themselves to the voters across the globe.

This article is written by Majbritt Thomsen, administrator on ‘Views On Tourism’.

Be Sociable, Share!

Posted in Bangladesh, Best practice, Customer opinions, India, IT, World.

0 Responses

Stay in touch with the conversation, subscribe to the RSS feed for comments on this post.

Some HTML is OK

or, reply to this post via trackback.