Skip to content


WTTC Announces Shortlist of Finalists for 2010 Tourism for Tomorrow Awards

12 Finalists to Showcase World’s Leading Examples of Best Practice in Travel & Tourism

3 February 2010 – London, UK: The World Travel & Tourism Council (WTTC) today announced the 12 finalists for the 2010 Tourism for Tomorrow Awards. Under WTTC’s stewardship since 2003, the prestigious Awards recognise best practice in sustainable tourism in four different categories – Destination Stewardship, Conservation, Community Benefit and Global Tourism Business. Over 160 entries were received this year from over 45 countries.

The 12 finalists were selected by an international team of independent judges in each of the four award categories for having successfully demonstrated sustainable tourism practices, including the protection of natural and cultural heritage, social and economic benefits to local people, and environmentally friendly operations.

The 2010 Finalists are:

Destination Stewardship Award
Botswana Tourism Board, Botswana
Ministry of Tourism, Montenegro
Mount Huangshan Scenic Site, China

Conservation Award
Emirates Hotels & Resorts, UAE
Inkaterra Perú SAC, Peru
Singita Grumeti Reserves, Tanzania

Community Benefit Award
• Namibia’s Communal Conservancy Tourism Sector / NACSO, Namibia –
Tourindia, India
Whale Watch Kaikoura Ltd, New Zealand

Global Tourism Business Award
Accor, France & Global
Banyan Tree Holdings, Singapore & Global
Wilderness Safaris, South Africa & Global

Costas Christ, Chairman of Judges said: “The travel and tourism industry is at a critical crossroads, not because of the global economic recession, but rather, as more travel companies and destinations understand that a paradigm shift is underway, where addressing social and environmental issues is an important part of business success. Sustainable practices have become a new measure of quality service, and the excellent Award entries we received this year in all categories support this. Our 2010 Tourism for Tomorrow finalists represent that new reality in action, where good stewardship is now good business.”
“It’s great to see that, despite these difficult times, we have received so many outstanding applications from organisations committed to sustainable tourism development,” said Jean-Claude Baumgarten, WTTC’s President & CEO, on announcing the 12 finalists. “This augurs really well for the future of the industry.”

The finalist selection judging committee for the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards 2010 includes:
• Tony Charters, Principal, Tony Charters & Associates, Australia
• Jena Gardner, President, JG Blackbook of Travel, and President, The Bodhi Tree Foundation, USA
• Erika Harms, Executive Director of the Tourism Sustainability Council (TSC) and Senior Advisor on Tourism at the United Nations Foundation, USA/Costa Rica
• Marilú Hernández, President, Fundación Haciendas del Mundo Maya, Mexico
• Dr Janne J Liburd, Associate Professor and Director of Research, Centre for Tourism, Culture and Innovation, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark
• Mahen Sanghrajka, Chairman, Big Five Tours & Expeditions, USA/Kenya
• Kaddu Kiwe Sebunya, Chief of Party, Uganda Sustainable Tourism Program, Uganda
• Mandip Singh Soin FRGS, Founder & Managing Director, Ibex Expeditions (P) Ltd, India
• Shannon Stowell, President, Adventure Travel Trade Association, USA
• Jamie Sweeting, Vice President, Environmental Stewardship and Global Chief Environmental Officer, Royal Caribbean Cruises, USA
• Albert Teo, Managing Director, Borneo Eco Tours, Malaysia
• Mei Zhang, Founder, Wildchina, China

The Tourism for Tomorrow Awards are endorsed by WTTC Members, as well as other organisations and companies. They are organised in association with two Strategic Partners: Travelport and The Leading Travel Companies’ Conservation Foundation. Other sponsors/supporters include: Adventures in Travel Expo, BEST Education Network, Breaking Travel News, CNBC, National Geographic Channel/Sky News, eTurboNews, Friends of Nature, Travel Daily News, the International Tourism Partnership/Green Hotelier, Pacific Asia Travel Association (PATA), Planeterra, Travel Weekly US, the Rainforest Alliance, National Geographic Traveler, Budget Travel Magazine, Reed Travel Exhibitions, FVW, Simon & Baker Travel Review, Sustainable Travel International, Saffron Media, Tony Charters & Associates, 4Hoteliers, Travelmole, Travesias, TTN Middle East, USA Today, Newsweek International and the World Heritage Alliance.

For more information about the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards and the finalists, please call Susann Kruegel, WTTC’s Manager, e-Strategy and Tourism for Tomorrow Awards, on +44 (0) 20 7481 8007, or contact her by email at You can also check out the website: .

This article is a quoted from World Travel and Tourism Council (WTTC) read the original press release please follow this link .

This article is uploaded by Majbritt Thomsen, administrator on ‘Views On Tourism’

Be Sociable, Share!

Posted in Best practice, Education and qualification, Performance and management, Sustainability, World.

0 Responses

Stay in touch with the conversation, subscribe to the RSS feed for comments on this post.

Some HTML is OK

or, reply to this post via trackback.